Ubuntu: Read Only File System Error

I had this error which made it impossible for me to do anything:

I tried to change the “fstab” file, but I couldn’t, because I had this error.

sudo didn’t work, because I had this error.

I couldn’t use “make” to compile code I’m writing.

I tried booting in recovery mode, and chosing “drop root” .. But I had this error.

Solution:

When you turn your computer on, in the “grub” menu .. Chose “Previous Linux versions”.. Then chose the oldest one in recovery mode…

So for example, you’d find something like this:

Release 3.0.0-16
Release 3.0.0-16 recovery mode
Release 3.0.0-12
Release 3.0.0-12 recovery mode.


Chose the last one, Release 3.0.0-12 recovery mode

Then chose “Drop root” .. Then use the following command:

fsck -As

And chose yes to everything.

After it’s done, reboot normally. Perform an update:

sudo apt-get update

Perform an upgrade:

sudo apt-get upgrade

You’re done.

By the way, Ubuntu 12.04 has just came out a couple of days ago. It’s an LTS version (Long Term Support).

Leave a Reply

